Original Dungeons & Dragons Set – Woodgrain - 1st Print
Author

Active Collector
Acaeum Donor

Post Posted: Sat Dec 03, 2016 2:59 pm 

Hi everyone,

It was suggested that I start a thread here so folks can comment and make inquiries about the "Original Dungeons & Dragons Set -- Woodgrain Box -- First Printing" listing that I put up on eBay yesterday (12/2/2016).

I know there is a lot of concern because this is a high-priced object, and, frankly, I had ZERO first-hand experience with eBay before i jumped right in and posted this item. So no, there is no feedback, no history, and it might well look like this is some kind of scam.

But it's not. I acquired this game in 1974 as I described in the history note on the eBay listing. After that, my life did not take me in any direction that included games - I was a farmer, a writer, a Unitarian minister, a community organizer - there was a lot going on. I wasn't much into possessions of any sort, so never even bought anything on eBay, and really didn't think I had anything of value to sell.

I recently retired, and had some time to go through boxes that I hadn't opened in years, There, perfectly preserved in a tightly-sealed plastic box, were a couple of games. The D&D was one of them.

I knew it was old, and probably original, so I asked Uncle Google and found The Acaeum. Yeah - I was surprised to see that a similar set had actually set a price record. So I decided to have a go at learning a new skill - how to sell on eBay. I figured out the basics, took some photos and put it up.