B3 Palace of the Silver Princess negatives
Author

Site Admin

Post Posted: Sat Feb 08, 2003 5:46 am 

Kevin Hendryx, a designer with TSR in the early days, recently contacted us regarding the negatives to the orange-cover B3 Palace of the Silver Princess that he'd like to part with.  He wanted to give serious collectors the first crack at it, so I offered to post a notice here for him.

His message is as follows:

"I am a former TSR designer/developer from 1980-81, the Golden Age as we called it then.  As an industry professional and avid game collector, I hoarded a small pile of gaming rarities that only in recent years have I begun to sell off at conventions or eBay.   I have sold my last copy of the original printing of module B3 (Palace of the Silver Princess, orange cover) but in the course of a house move a few years ago I uncovered something I thought had been lost or inadvertently discarded:  the original printing negatives to the interior of module B3 (i.e., everything needed to print copies except the cover  folder color separations).  These had been recovered by me during a TSR archives housecleaning in mid-1981, when they were slated for destruction,  and kept in their original storage folder ever since.

"I have been planning to put this unique item up for sale on eBay and have been taking display photos in anticipation of this listing, but before I list it, I thought I'd contact this website and see if I might make this sale privately first, to spare myself the eBay commission and hedge against the time it might take to find a bidder who will meet the reserve price.   I have not yet decided on this, so I am willing to entertain any serious offers someone might wish to tender.

"I would like to get a good price, obviously, but I would also like to see this one-of-a-kind item pass to a serious collector who will appreciate owning it and cataloging it for a worldwide audience."