B3 Palace of The Silver Princess-legit?
Author

Collector

Post Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2022 11:45 am 

I bought this recently and was wondering if it is legit?
It came pretty banged up as you can see from the postage.
Any comments would be helpful.

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Grandstanding Collector
Acaeum Donor

Post Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2022 1:49 pm 

Regarding legitimacy, I'll leave that to others who own such things. My gut instinct says yes but I am no expert in shrinkwrapped orange B3s.
However, I have no idea what you paid for it, but if I paid any more than $200 for something and it was shipped in a envelope like that, I'd be straight onto eBay and my credit card looking for a full refund. Whoever packed that is a dick.

This week I've been mostly eating . . . The white ones with the little red flecks in them.

Collector

Post Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2022 1:58 pm 

I paid $7600.00

Site Admin

Post Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2022 2:21 pm 

Two quick comments:

-- It's very, very common for orange B3s to exhibit warping from too-tight shrinkwrap

-- If it was faked / post-production shrinkwrap, they probably wouldn't have bothered to include the tears or strip of scotch tape

Without better pictures to be sure, it looks legit to me.  However, it's pretty criminal to pack a $7600 item in an envelope like that, which also doesn't bode well for its authenticity (a scammer isn't going to pack a fake well, he's going to toss it in an envelope to you and disappear).  Once you reach this kind of price point, unfortunately, the motive (and profit potential) is definitely there to try and create a professional forgery.

Foul

Verbose Collector

Post Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2022 2:56 pm 

That’s an awful packaging job. This was that zero-feedback seller (now one). If you think some damage came from the lack of packaging, I think you’re completely entitled to a partial refund.