B Series Values
Author

Collector

Post Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 8:49 pm 

I've written a app to pull down all of the completed auctions from eBay for various searches and store them in a database.  I then review each listing to determine condition, print, etc.  I'm NO expert at grading, but after going through hundreds of these I hope to at least be pretty consistent.  This represents the past 3 months of completed (sold) auctions on eBay.  Let me know if you have any questions.

Grandstanding Collector

Post Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2019 2:30 pm 

You probably want to make the distinction between "Mint in Shrink" and "Mint" out of shrink - there is a big difference between the two.

Also, just spot checking a few - the prices seem fairly similar to the "estimated values" posted on the Acaeum.

Prolific Collector
Acaeum Donor

Post Posted: Thu Feb 28, 2019 8:30 pm 

Good stuff. Not sure if you have seen but have you noticed valuation differences betweens printings?

Prolific Collector

Post Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 5:25 am 

I think you can run into a lot of problems using eBay solds as definite values.

Seller states the item is complete, or unwritten in, etc. and it's not. If the buyer doesn't return the item for a refund or a partial refund, is that really the value of the item in it's particular condition?
Speaking of partial refunds, they don't show up in the sold price. I think they reflect just a small minority of the amount of items sold but I've gotten a few over the years.

What if the item is damaged in the mail? You may have paid $20 for a B-whatever in VF condition, but if it didn't get to you in that condition and you didn't get a partial refund. You didn't pay $20 for a VF book, you paid $20 for a book in whatever condition it came to you as.