Complete Newbie's Guide to the City-State and Wilderlands?
Author

Active Collector

Post Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 3:00 pm 

Hi, folks,

I'm extremely curious about the Judge's Guild stuff, specifically the Wilderlands of High Fantasy and City-State of the Invincible Overlord settings.  (As I understand it, they're linked, correct?)  The reviews on the d20 retreads have been extremely positive, but I don't play d20.  (I run either 1e AD&D or HackMaster, depending on the campaign.)  I'm completely green, here - so tell me, if you have a minute, everything I need to know.  ;)

What's the basic gist of the setting?  What are the "basic buys" I need to get started?  Is it at all feasible for a "casual collector" such as myself to track down copies of this stuff in good condition, or should I go with PDFs?  (I'm interested in running actual games with this stuff, not letting it moulder on a shelf.)  And, lastly, I understand Judge's Guild is offering PDF downloads of the original material on their website - what has your experience been with this service?  

Any and all feedback is welcome and appreciated,

DYA

Active Collector

Post Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 3:06 pm 

Addendum:  What are your recommendations for some good entry-level modules?  Is there a "classic campaign" (a la Temple, Slavers, GDQ for Greyhawk)?

Grandstanding Collector
Acaeum Donor

Post Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 6:28 pm 

Your question is quite a large one, DestroyYouALot.

First...go to the Judges Guild Subweb (from the Acaeum Home Page) and start studying there.

There are at least three dozen products included in the Wilderlands Campaign, as well as magazine articles and adventures, maps, etc...

Many Judges Guild D&D and AD&D products are located on, or related to, the Wilderlands Campaign.

Wilderlands items are, in fact, still being published.

Eostros has some Judges Guild pdf materials on their website.