Newbie needs help and info
Author

Collector

Post Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 6:22 pm 

I am a newbie at all this. I have tons of books I am trying to sell on Ebay for my brotherinlaw. In one auction ( which you all have a link to on another board LOL) it contains The Temple of Elemental Evil in fine to very fine condition, and 3rd print Character Codex. Now my problem is when my husband went to take the Codex out of the sleeve it was in the first 2 perforated pages came off. Now the winner of the auction who actually won them for $28.57. When I told him what happened and asked if we could work something out, he now wants to give me $8.57 for both books. All the research I have done is telling me that they are worth more than that but I thought if I joined here and asked someone would know better than I did. Any help at all would be greatly appreciated. To see the books even though the auction has ended you can go here:  
** expired eBay auction **

Thanks in advance :scratch:

Shirl

WWW YIM  

Grandstanding Collector

Post Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 6:33 pm 

for what its worth?

if it was ME that won the item....and then you told me that? i prb wouldnt want it or offer anything for it unless i was totally and absolutely desperate for it.

he could turn round and state no sale to ebay because the item isnt in the same condition as you were selling it in.

a damaged book is well...damaged. i beleive it has very nominal value at best.

sorry i cant be any more optimistic for you.

Al

Verbose Collector

Post Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 7:09 pm 

** expired eBay auction **

This auction right?

Al (Killjoy)  is probably right - the condition of the books has a serious effect on their value. While the auction description does not give much away regarding condition I would suggest that the 'near mint' part suggests that the books were at least whole.