Compiling a list of 1970s scenarios
Author

Active Collector

Post Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2022 3:08 pm 

I should start by introducing myself. I've been playing RPGs on and off since 1982 and have what my wife considers a very large RPG collection from the 70s-mid 90s, but you would all consider puny! It's mostly TSR/Judges Guild/Iron Crown Enterprises. I've used the Acaeum quite extensively over the years and found it extremely useful - thanks. I don't know if any of you might be able to help me in my current quest?

I'm currently compiling a list of *all* scenarios/adventures/dungeons published for D&D in the 1970s (including some which don't say D&D but clearly are). You can see from my blog - Explore: Beneath & Beyond - that I've been giving name/author etc., my best attempt at a publication date (often based upon adverts and reviews), a snapshot of a map (usually the dungeon if it has one), and some observations. Once complete the idea is to look for influences / trends etc across these initial years.

I've got copies or samples of *almost* everything (that I know about), and I've had some help with tracking down a lot of stuff in Fanzines, but there are a couple of obscure products I have little on.

The Monkey God's Curse by Jim Eckman, Balboa Game Company, 1979. It's a solo module, so no map, but an interior illustration (if there are any) and a sample entry or two would be useful. All I've found online is the cover and intro page.

Referee Map Modules by Clive Bigglestone, DunDraCon, 1979. Lots of discussion about this one - photocopies being sold on Ebay, and complaints that it's awful - but no interior photos. It is stated online that this is geomorphs but the description implies that the maps are all separate - an image of one of the maps and confirmation of whether or not it's Geomorphs would be great.