Tales of Peril - in print!
Post new topic Reply to topic Page 1 of 1
Author


Verbose Collector

Posts: 1661
Joined: Sep 03, 2003
Last Visit: Oct 19, 2021
Location: Portown

Post Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2015 12:41 pm 
 

Here's exciting news for fans of Boinger and Zereth. I've been authorized to share a teaser for a compilation of their stories to be released in a few months:

BLACK BLADE PUBLISHING'S NEW PRODUCT LINEUP

Tales of Peril - The Complete Boinger and Zereth Stories of John Eric Holmes - edited by Allan T. Grohe Jr.

Tales of Peril is Black Blade's first foray into publishing fiction, and collects all of the Boinger and Zereth dungeon adventure stories written by John Eric Holmes (best known for editing the first Basic Set in 1977). Featuring the novella The Maze of Peril, eight other short stories, and Holmes' seminal article "Confessions of a Dungeon Master". Allan Grohe, Chris Holmes, and Zach Howard contribute introductions and the annotated Holmes bibliography. Coming in June 2015.

(From the back cover of Black Blade Publishing's reprint of Rob Kuntz's module CAS2 Tower of Blood)

More info to follow in the upcoming weeks. Also posted on the blog & other forums.


Zenopus Archives website & blog: Exploring the Underworld of Holmes Basic D&D. Holmes Ref: Reference Sheets for Holmes Basic Referees, also compatible with OD&D plus the Greyhawk supplement


Last edited by Zenopus on Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
 WWW  

User avatar

Active Collector

Posts: 33
Joined: May 22, 2011
Last Visit: Apr 14, 2019
Location: Blueholme

Post Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 8:35 pm 
 

I. can. not. wait.  :D



 WWW  


Grandstanding Collector

Posts: 5658
Joined: Nov 16, 2002
Last Visit: Oct 22, 2021
Location: Wichita, KS, USA

Post Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:48 pm 
 

A picture of the signatures sheet for the first edition printing of Tales of Peril: The Complete Boinger and Zereth Stories of John Eric Holmes, before we mailed the sheets off to the printer last month (which is why they're in plastic).

Chris Holmes, Zach Howard, and Allan Grohe signed the sheets at the 2016 North Texas RPG Con.  The book is in layout now, and is Black Blade Publishing's first foray into fiction.  It will premiere at the NTX RPG Con in June 2017.

More details soon!

Allan.

Image


Allan Grohe ([email protected])
Greyhawk, grodog Style

Editor and Project Manager, Black Blade Publishing
https://www.facebook.com/BlackBladePublishing/

 WWW  

User avatar

Active Collector

Posts: 89
Joined: Apr 21, 2013
Last Visit: Aug 16, 2021

Post Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 7:43 am 
 

SSSSssssssaaaaaaaawwwweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet!

  


Grandstanding Collector

Posts: 5658
Joined: Nov 16, 2002
Last Visit: Oct 22, 2021
Location: Wichita, KS, USA

Post Posted: Fri May 12, 2017 12:09 pm 
 

I forgot to mention that Black Blade Publishing's Tales of Peril: The Complete Boinger and Zereth Stories of John Eric Holmes went to press yesterday morning! :D

If everything goes according to plan at the printer, it will debut at the North Texas RPG Con in three weeks.  

I've also been revealing more information about the book on my blog @ https://grodog.blogspot.com/:

- Tales of Peril - the Third Preview: Illustrations and Artwork
- Tales of Peril - the Second Preview: Table of Contents
- Tales of Peril - the First Preview: Signature Page (which you've already seen in this thread, of course! :D ).

Allan.


Allan Grohe ([email protected])
Greyhawk, grodog Style

Editor and Project Manager, Black Blade Publishing
https://www.facebook.com/BlackBladePublishing/

 WWW  


Grandstanding Collector

Posts: 5658
Joined: Nov 16, 2002
Last Visit: Oct 22, 2021
Location: Wichita, KS, USA

Post Posted: Mon May 15, 2017 11:34 am 
 

The back cover art preview is now live at From Kuroth's Quill - grodog's AD&D blog: Tales of Peril - the fourth preview:  back cover art!

Image


Allan Grohe ([email protected])
Greyhawk, grodog Style

Editor and Project Manager, Black Blade Publishing
https://www.facebook.com/BlackBladePublishing/

 WWW  

User avatar

Grandstanding Collector

Posts: 6093
Joined: May 03, 2003
Last Visit: Oct 19, 2021
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

Post Posted: Fri May 19, 2017 11:58 pm 
 



Saw this one and a bunch of his other art in person today - great to meet Ian, I enjoy his work.

 WWW  


Grandstanding Collector

Posts: 5658
Joined: Nov 16, 2002
Last Visit: Oct 22, 2021
Location: Wichita, KS, USA

Post Posted: Mon May 22, 2017 11:50 pm 
 

Mars wrote in Tales of Peril - in print!:


Saw this one and a bunch of his other art in person today - great to meet Ian, I enjoy his work.


Very cool, Mark---Ian's work is pretty great!  

Here's some more info about the book, for those who haven't seen the previews on my blog:

==

Tales of Peril: The Complete Boinger and Zereth Stories of John Eric Holmes

Published by Black Blade Publishing
Printed in the USA

334 pages
Signed and Numbered Limited Edition Hardcover with Dustjacket
200 copies signed by Chris Holmes, Zach Howard, Allan Grohe
46 signed, non-numbered copies (comp and contributor copies, spares for losses in the mail, etc.)

ISBN 978-0-9842870-7-9
BP5000
$35

Contents

Table of Contents
List of Illustrations and Artwork
Introduction by Allan T. Grohe Jr.

FICTION

Preface to The Maze of Peril by Chris Holmes
The Maze of Peril
   Entrances
   Dark Water
   Green Cloak
   Centaurs and Clerics
   Theft and Pursuit
   An Unusual Ride
   The Second Descent
   Battles in the Dark
   Visible and Invisible
   Breakout
   Resolutions
 
Alarums & Excursions Campaign Materials
"Warrior for Hire"
"Were-Shark"
"The Adventure of the Giant Chameleon" by John Eric Holmes and Chris Holmes
"Adventure of the Lost City, Part One"  
"Adventure of the Lost City, Part Two"

Dragon Magazine Stories

Preface to "Trollshead"
"Trollshead"

Preface to "The Sorcerer's Jewel"
"The Sorcerer's Jewel"
Preface to "In the Bag"
"In the Bag"

Unpublished Short Story
Preface to "Witch Doctor"
"Witch Doctor"

NON-FICTION

"Confessions of a Dungeon Master"
"Boinger & Zereth Player Character Summaries and Character Card Scans" by Chris Holmes
"My Time as Murray" by Eric M. Frasier
"The Writings of Dr. J. Eric Holmes" by Zach Howard
"Annotated Bibliography for J. Eric Holmes, 1930-2010" by Zach Howard
"Afterword" by Chris Holmes
Contributor Biographies

Allan.


Allan Grohe ([email protected])
Greyhawk, grodog Style

Editor and Project Manager, Black Blade Publishing
https://www.facebook.com/BlackBladePublishing/

 WWW  


Grandstanding Collector

Posts: 5658
Joined: Nov 16, 2002
Last Visit: Oct 22, 2021
Location: Wichita, KS, USA

Post Posted: Fri May 26, 2017 12:44 pm 
 

Black Blade Publishing received shipping confirmation from our printer for _Tales of Peril_, and it will arrive at the North Texas RPG Con the day before the convention opens!  =)

We'll post when the book is available for sale after we return from the NTX RPG Con (1-4 June).  So, Jon or I will make an announcement through the usual social media channels sometime after 6 June, or so, as to when the book will be available to purchase.

Allan.


Allan Grohe ([email protected])
Greyhawk, grodog Style

Editor and Project Manager, Black Blade Publishing
https://www.facebook.com/BlackBladePublishing/

 WWW  


Verbose Collector

Posts: 1661
Joined: Sep 03, 2003
Last Visit: Oct 19, 2021
Location: Portown

Post Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:34 am 
 

It's in print! Allan posted this picture from the Black Blade booth at North Texas just a little while ago:

Image

Update: I wrote a blog post to go with this photo: Tales of Peril in print!


Zenopus Archives website & blog: Exploring the Underworld of Holmes Basic D&D. Holmes Ref: Reference Sheets for Holmes Basic Referees, also compatible with OD&D plus the Greyhawk supplement

 WWW  


Grandstanding Collector

Posts: 5658
Joined: Nov 16, 2002
Last Visit: Oct 22, 2021
Location: Wichita, KS, USA

Post Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 5:46 pm 
 

I've just posted our interim ordering process while the Black Blade Publishing web site is down: From Kuroth's Quill - grodog's AD&D blog: How to Order Tales of Peril (and other books) from Black Blade Publishing

Allan.


Allan Grohe ([email protected])
Greyhawk, grodog Style

Editor and Project Manager, Black Blade Publishing
https://www.facebook.com/BlackBladePublishing/

 WWW  
Post new topic Reply to topic Page 1 of 1