A way to extrapolate unknown print run sizes
Author

Prolific Collector

Post Posted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 11:46 pm 

Just throwing a thought out there; I don't yet have a good feel for whether this idea would work...

The print run sizes aren't publicly known for a few notable items. Castle Zagyg The Upper Works springs to mind, for example. Perhaps it's possible to collect ownership data among Acaeum members for a few similar contemporary collectable rpg products with _known_ print run sizes, and use those figures to extrapolate likely print run sizes of things like The Upper Works.

I've heard anecdotes of marketing / customer data being gathered this way, but I have no formal background in it, so I don't have a good feel for how to properly set up a methodology.

If I had to stab at it, I'd say pick a comparable item with a known print run size (perhaps a PPP item or some other Gygax+TLG item), and run a poll here to determine what percentage of those copies Acaeum members own. If, for example, Acaeum members consistently own 10% of similar items, we could use that data, plus Acaeum ownership info for something like The Upper Works to establish an approximate print run size for it.

One possible failure point is that I could envision Acaeum ownership being pretty close to a flat number, as opposed to fluctuating with the print run size.

Guy Fullerton
Chaotic Henchmen Productions
http://www.chaotichenchmen.com/

Sage Collector

Post Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 5:04 am 

I'd have to dig and dig and try to remember where I saw it, but I KNOW I saw authoritative comments on the print run of CZ:UW.  One stated over 500 and the other less than 700-750.  So it's in there somewhere, presumably about 600.

I'd guess it was here, DF, or TLG forums where I read that at some point, if anyone is in the mood to throw some search-fu to confirm my hazy memory.