Forum Update
Post new topic Reply to topic Page 1 of 21, 2
Author

User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 2143
Joined: Oct 19, 2002
Last Visit: Jun 26, 2022
Location: Honolulu, HI

Post Posted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 1:49 am 
 

The forum software has been upgraded, and a few behind-the-scenes features added.  While I was extremely careful in tinkering with it, there's always the possibility I screwed something up.

Please report any problems with the forum to [email protected].

  

User avatar

Grandstanding Collector

Posts: 5659
Joined: Jun 30, 2003
Last Visit: May 18, 2022
Location: New Hampsha

Post Posted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 3:16 am 
 

Scott, what was that 4th category that was posted earlier? Something about Estimated Value of items?


If you hit a Rowsdower, you get to keep it.

 WWW  

User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 2143
Joined: Oct 19, 2002
Last Visit: Jun 26, 2022
Location: Honolulu, HI

Post Posted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 3:24 am 
 

Oh, just some test things I was working on.  There's nothing behind the curtain; move along.

  


Prolific Collector
Valuation Board

Posts: 681
Joined: Oct 13, 2003
Last Visit: Apr 29, 2022
Location: Denver, CO

Post Posted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 8:27 pm 
 

The update looks great!

8)

  

User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 2143
Joined: Oct 19, 2002
Last Visit: Jun 26, 2022
Location: Honolulu, HI

Post Posted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 9:10 pm 
 

The update's been posted for only five minutes!  You folks are quick.  :)

  


Prolific Collector

Posts: 194
Joined: Nov 05, 2002
Last Visit: Jun 23, 2022
Location: Charleston, SC

Post Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 6:02 pm 
 

Is it just me? The links on the home page are not working for me.

 WWW  

User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 2143
Joined: Oct 19, 2002
Last Visit: Jun 26, 2022
Location: Honolulu, HI

Post Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 6:55 pm 
 

The home page of the web site, or the forum?  If the web site, do you at least see the buttons/text/etc?

  


Verbose Collector
Acaeum Donor

Posts: 1043
Joined: Jan 06, 2004
Last Visit: Jul 01, 2020
Location: Leicester, UK

Post Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:01 pm 
 

McDuff wrote:Is it just me? The links on the home page are not working for me.




Didn't work for me initially on my work PC.  I seemed to get a strange hybrid where I could see the page.  But the links seemed to be in the wrong places.  A couple of refreshes sorted it out.  Gates!



Strange hybrid?  Sounds like a rare collectable.  If only I hadn't have used refresh I could have sold it to TGE.  :wink:

  


Prolific Collector

Posts: 194
Joined: Nov 05, 2002
Last Visit: Jun 23, 2022
Location: Charleston, SC

Post Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 11:23 pm 
 

:oops: Duh. Reload the page.  Now it works.

 WWW  

User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 2143
Joined: Oct 19, 2002
Last Visit: Jun 26, 2022
Location: Honolulu, HI

Post Posted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 5:03 am 
 

Glad it was a simple fix.



On a related note: is anyone getting the new texture background on the forums?  I am at home, but my computer at work is showing the old texture.  Not quite sure why that is.



Foul

  


Prolific Collector
Acaeum Donor

Posts: 905
Joined: Apr 09, 2003
Last Visit: Nov 09, 2015
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

Post Posted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 5:24 am 
 

Hi Scott,



the new texture is showing pretty nicely. Maybe your workplace has some sort of proxy server who has stored the old image? I guess you gave the new background tile the same name than the former file? Then it should change with the next Proxy update to the new background, probably  within a couple of days.


- "When the going gets weird, the Weird turn pro."

Hunter S. Thompson (July 18, 1937 - Feb 20, 2005)



  

User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 2143
Joined: Oct 19, 2002
Last Visit: Jun 26, 2022
Location: Honolulu, HI

Post Posted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 2:04 pm 
 

No, no proxy -- and everything else looks fine from work.  More tinkering, perhaps.

  


Grandstanding Collector

Posts: 5715
Joined: Nov 16, 2002
Last Visit: Jun 25, 2022
Location: Wichita, KS, USA

Post Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 12:45 am 
 

Perhaps clear your browser cache???


Allan Grohe ([email protected])
Greyhawk, grodog Style

Editor and Project Manager, Black Blade Publishing
https://www.facebook.com/BlackBladePublishing/

 WWW  

User avatar

Site Admin

Posts: 2143
Joined: Oct 19, 2002
Last Visit: Jun 26, 2022
Location: Honolulu, HI

Post Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 2:46 pm 
 

Genius, grodog.  I never think of that, since I assume hitting "Refresh" will fix such things.



So, for anyone *else* not seeing the new texture on the forums, clear your cache (delete your cookies / temporary Internet files).

  


Prolific Collector
Acaeum Donor

Posts: 425
Joined: Nov 05, 2002
Last Visit: Jun 24, 2022
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 8:20 am 
 

Or you can do a ctrl-shift-refresh.

(Control refresh works on some browsers and on others it's shift refresh so ctrl-shift refresh will work for any browser...)

It forces the browser to get everything (stylesheets, images etc) even if they've been cached whereas a normal refresh doesn't do that.



Nev

 WWW  

User avatar

Grandstanding Collector

Posts: 5659
Joined: Jun 30, 2003
Last Visit: May 18, 2022
Location: New Hampsha

Post Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2004 10:56 am 
 

Unless you're on dialup, you should have cache set to 0 anyways.


If you hit a Rowsdower, you get to keep it.

 WWW  

User avatar

Verbose Collector
Acaeum Donor

Posts: 1709
Joined: Feb 04, 2004
Last Visit: Aug 23, 2016
Location: Chandler, AZ

Post Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 5:41 am 
 

Didn't want to start a new thread for this one:

I have been getting this error message whenever posting a message or PM (since yesterday)

Warning: fsockopen(): unable to connect to acaeum.com:25 in /home/acaeum/public_html/phpBB2/includes/smtp.php on line 109

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/acaeum/public_html/phpBB2/includes/smtp.php:109) in /home/acaeum/public_html/phpBB2/includes/page_header.php on line 519

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/acaeum/public_html/phpBB2/includes/smtp.php:109) in /home/acaeum/public_html/phpBB2/includes/page_header.php on line 521

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/acaeum/public_html/phpBB2/includes/smtp.php:109) in /home/acaeum/public_html/phpBB2/includes/page_header.php on line 522


 and also:

Could not connect to smtp host : 111 : Connection refused

DEBUG MODE

Line : 111
File : /home/acaeum/public_html/phpBB2/includes/smtp.php


I think that Deadlord36 might be receiving similar errors - maybe others are as well?


"Gleemonex makes it feel like it's seventy-two degrees in your head... all... the... time! "

  

User avatar

Grandstanding Collector

Posts: 5659
Joined: Jun 30, 2003
Last Visit: May 18, 2022
Location: New Hampsha

Post Posted: Thu Aug 26, 2004 7:52 am 
 

Been randomly getting them for 2 days now.


If you hit a Rowsdower, you get to keep it.

 WWW  
Next
Post new topic Reply to topic Page 1 of 21, 2