BITD (back in the day)
Author

Prolific Collector

Post Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 12:25 am 

If this is already somewhere else, I apologize.

In another thread, I said that when I started playing in 1978 there were only a few books (Monster Manual, DM Guide, Player's Handbook, Fiend Folio, maybe one or two others) to get started, plus a lot of new modules every year.  To a newcomer like me, the rules were overwhelming at times, but I did have fun.

Now, after 32 years, these are some of the books you need just to start:

>>  Monster Manual I, II, III, AND IV;
>>  DM's Guide I AND II;
>>  Players' Handbook I AND II (maybe there's a III somewhere??)
>>  Plus innumerable books with rules for this, that, and every conceivable situation--all very expensive ($35-45 each).
And very few new modules in a year.

AAARRRGGGHHH!!!!!!

Makes one wish for the somewhat simpler D&D / AD&D 1st edition.

When I went to play the 30th-anniversary game a couple of years back, I expected [/i]some changes---but NOTHING like the huge number of books it now seems to take.  It reminds me of the IRS Tax Code!!

The one thing I thought always was that I was one of a dwindling few who preferred 1E and even early 2E to the current 3.5E;  I gues I'm wrong about that!! 8)

Verbose Collector

Post Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 12:59 am 

I gues I'm wrong about that!!  
- Nah, all the guys here are champing at the bit to play 3E (or, as I believe it's newest incarnation is called 3.58785aE) (I shouldn't complain really - I love Forgotten Realms stuff and WOTC are banging out books left right and centre - I simply ignore the rules heavy bits and read the backstory!)
(Though I personally believe you can NEVER have enough prestige classes, the more obscure the better for preference! (Can't wait for the Dire Corby Unholy Florist Taxidermist P/C :roll: )

Prolific Collector

Post Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 2:31 am