Introduction from Darlene
Author

Collector

Post Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 9:06 am 

Good Tidings to all.

My name is Darlene. I had it legally shortened from Darlene Pekul back in 1984 (probably why few have been able to locate me). As the result of a google search, I happened upon Arcaeum and posted in the Classified section regarding some original TSR art I recently discovered among the boxes I've been dragging with me from move to move. Mark (Mars) suggested I formally introduce myself in the part of the Acaeum forum where replies are possible.

During the late ‘70s, early ‘80s, I was a freelance artist living in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin having just received my BA degree from Beloit College (Emma Bull and Will Sheterley were classmates and friends of mine). I first met one of the TSR guys (Mike Carr) when I was working as a layout artist for the company which printed the Gen Con materials. Mike wanted to date me and I accepted. There were only a handful of employees at TSR and they worked out of an old house across from the Pizza Hut. I had a front row seat watching TSR grow into a giant.

From what I've been able to ascertain, TSR threw away most of the original art from the very early days. Such a shame, but it was theirs to throw away. The original artwork I rediscovered is from Rahasia, the first RPGA module; illustrations for The Polyhedron; some airplane pix for FITS and illustrations for "The Amber Sword of World's End" by Mike Price—all in excellent condition. I also did a lot of stuff for The Dragon, including designing their letterhead, etc… and I still have some samples of their first green one. I also have many Dragon calendars and the calligraphy/lettering work I created for them. I don't know if anyone wants this stuff, but it IS a part of RPG history. BTW--I also have my artist's copy of many of the early Dragon Magazines.