Q&A with Greg Stafford
Author

Verbose Collector

Post Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:38 am 

Post your questions for Greg Stafford here.

Welcome to the Acaeum, Greg.

Sage Collector

Post Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:13 pm 

I'm an Acaeum newbie, so I can rush in where angels fear to tread.    What stories can you tell about

(1) Favorite Chaosium RPG games or settings that you created while at Chaosium?  Favorite RPG games that were created by other companies during that time?

(2) Favorite current products (RPGs, CCGs, books, viceo games, whatever) that are related to gaming?

Ignore the following question if it's not appropriate or if you have answered it ad nauseum (which you probably have).

(3) So what was the deal with Cthulhu and TSR's Deities and Demigods?  First he was in the book; then he was gone, and Chaosium was thanked on the credits page.  Was Chaosium willing to let TSR use Cthulhu?  Was some handshake or official deal made that was later not used?

[edit: added bold and italics]

Prolific Collector

Post Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:48 pm 

zhowar wrote:Post your questions for Greg Stafford here.
Welcome to the Acaeum, Greg.

Thanks!
I'm here to answer questions about Chaosium products from the time that I was president there, share stories from the "old days" and offer whatever else I can that is of value to this group.

I'm mainly a Chaosium guy, of course, but I'd like to share one tale about D&D to start, from WAY back when.

I used to work for Bergamot Brass Works, a belt buckle company out of Lake Geneva, WI after high school. Real hippy job. I'd take buckles, hitch hike around and sell them to shops, etc. After a while, though, I moved to California. My friend of the time remained there, selling buckles (we were called Buckle-itis).