DMG - Stone of Controlling Earth Elementals query
Post new topic Reply to topic Page 1 of 1
Author


Active Collector

Posts: 58
Joined: Jan 24, 2005
Last Visit: Feb 23, 2007
Location: UK

Post Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 7:52 am 
 

Hi y'all,

On p154 of my DMG (1979 revised) it talks about how a Stone of CONTROLLING Earth Elementals can be used to SUMMON an E.E. in line with the Brazier, Bowl and Censer.

I'm sure I've read previously that it used to be used for CONTROLLING E.E.s - namely 24HDs worth of Elemental.

Could some of you with older DMGs please have a looksee and let me know if I'm dreaming


[One of my PCs thought the same too. Think we might have been reading a PDF of an different version Efreet cover. I remember thinking that 24HD would only get one and a half E.E.s in the Earth Temple of ToEE]

Nothing on the Errata page nor the rest of the WWW
http://www.acaeum.com/library/errata_dmg.html

Or does anyone else have a bright idea about where I might have come across a device for controlling one and a half rough Earth Elementals? No, not 3.5 DMG.

Thanks,
BJS

  


Prolific Collector

Posts: 636
Joined: Sep 14, 2005
Last Visit: Jan 16, 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada

Post Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 9:54 am 
 

The item descriptions are the same in my 1st and 11th print DMGs as well as a 2nd Edition DMG and Encyclopedia Magica; no explicit reference to controlling 24HD.  The closest entry I could find was in the D&D Rules Cyclopedia which states:

The stone will summon an earth elementa and will allow the user to control it, subject to normal rules for elemental control.

 WWW  

User avatar

Prolific Collector

Posts: 851
Joined: Jun 12, 2004
Last Visit: Apr 07, 2021

Post Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 9:43 pm 
 

Here's the OD&D description (and yes, the elemental control items were all lumped together in one description).

Elemental Control Items: These four devices call up the Elemental indicated. Only the owner of the item may use it. All are rather bulky and require one turn to set up or store away if they are carried with an expedition. They will summon the Elemental in but one turn. No spell is required. Elemental strength is 12 Hit Dice.

To control an elemental in OD&D, one must look at the Conjure Elemental spell.  Basically, you have to maintain concentration, or you lose control of your elemental.  You can't control more than one elemental.

The AD&D description does mention that the stone can summon a 12HD elemental IF the material is rough stone.  The elemental is only 8HD if sand is the material.  But there is nothing there about 24HD elementals.  In fact, the Monster Manual mentions the largest elemental that can be summoned (16HD).



  


Long-Winded Collector
Acaeum Donor

Posts: 3066
Joined: Jul 09, 2004
Last Visit: Apr 30, 2015

Post Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 10:16 pm 
 

I thought there was something like this as well, perhaps it's in D&D, not AD&D?  The only reference I can find on controlling elementals that you didn't summon yourself is from the MM description of Elementals, pg. 37:

"A conjured elemental can be taken over and controlled by a magic-user casting a dispel magic spell..."

Somewhat interestingly, the Stone appears to be the only elemental summoning device without a cursed counterpart.

 YIM  

User avatar

Prolific Collector

Posts: 851
Joined: Jun 12, 2004
Last Visit: Apr 07, 2021

Post Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 8:07 pm 
 

AD&D 2nd Edition Monstrous Manual mentions elementals of up to 24HD (source: Planet ADND) but the Stone in that edition still only summons 8 or 12HD elementals.



  

User avatar

Verbose Collector
Acaeum Donor

Posts: 1709
Joined: Feb 04, 2004
Last Visit: Aug 23, 2016
Location: Chandler, AZ

Post Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 8:36 pm 
 

A couple of other things . . . . a Ring of Elemental Command lets you attempt to charm and elemental of the appropriate type (though it can't summon them).

No device can summon more than one of one type of elemental on a given day.

There is one reference in 1st edition to elementals more powerful than 16 HD.  The Druid spell Conjure Fire Elemental allows 2% chance that a 21-24 HD elemental will be summoned.


"Gleemonex makes it feel like it's seventy-two degrees in your head... all... the... time! "

  


Active Collector

Posts: 58
Joined: Jan 24, 2005
Last Visit: Feb 23, 2007
Location: UK

Post Posted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 7:40 am 
 

Thanks guys. Sounds like Mass Hallucination then!

The 24HD bit was to control a total of 24HD - i.e. 3 x 8 or 2 x 12 or just 1 at 16

Thus I wasn't too worried about the stone controlling all four 16HD E.Es in the ToEE and taking the fun out of it.

Still most odd, though.
BJS

  


Active Collector

Posts: 58
Joined: Jan 24, 2005
Last Visit: Feb 23, 2007
Location: UK

Post Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 6:01 am 
 

I think I've sussed it - a Scroll of Protection from Earth Elementals, found in ToEE will protect against 24HDs of E.Es, i.e. one and a half (!) of the nearby E.Es

Ta,
BJS

  
Post new topic Reply to topic Page 1 of 1