The Problem with Pdfs
Author

Prolific Collector

Post Posted: Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:15 pm 

I just wondered what people thought about them. It kinda bothers me as I've been working on my collection for over 6 months and I wonder if Pdfs will turn my collection into something to light the fire with. Personally I will always enjoy the real thing..but will others?

To find out if Pdfs cut it or not I downloaded the appropriate software and spent a day with it running in a background window downloading.

After 1 days here are the modules I downloaded :-

WGA4 Vecna Lives, RPGA4 The Elixir of Life, RPGA3 The Forgotten King, N4 Treasure Hunt, WG7 Castle Greyhawk, T1-4 temple Elemtal Evil, X5 temple of Death, Fright at Tristor, A Gnomes Affair, Ivid the Undying, Dragothas Lair, RPGA1 To the Aid of Falx, Dark & Hidden Ways, UK7 Dark Clouds Gather, WG10 Childs Play, WGR1 Greyhawk Ruin, WGR3 Rary the Traitor, WGR4 The Marklands, H3 Bloodstone Wars.

Overall several hundred dollars worth if buying the originals from ebay.

So I've saved myself money. Saved myself time too because it only took me a day.

However reading pdfs just isn't the same as a real module. Not the same exitement, no tingle, no nothing.  PDfs don't cut it for me..not even when I printed one out. maybe if my printer was better?

What does everyone else think? Will second hand AD&D/D&D stuff be worth nothing in 10 years due to everyone just having a disk full of PDFs?

Prolific Collector

Post Posted: Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:27 pm