Best method for storing a hardback collection
Author

Active Collector

Post Posted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:57 am 

Hello all :-)

I'm just getting started in collecting, and wanted to know how other collectors store thier hardback books (PHB, DMG, MM Etc..).  I know for mod's the mylar comic book type bags with backer boards is the best, but is there baggies that can fit hardbacks?  I've kept my on a bookcase up until now, but know that that is how corners get bent, and rub marks happen on the edges.    Thanks for your input!

"Always looking for that boxed set feeling"

Verbose Collector
Acaeum Donor

Post Posted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 8:02 am 

Hello BabyDragon,

Welcome to the Acaeum Forums.  I do not do anything special with these.  They are stored with the open-end down in a box.  I have seen some big baggies but I think they are ackward at best.  I should say that none of my hardbacks (including 2 true 1st prints DMG) are in any condition I worry about getting worse.

Come on Acaeum regulars lets get some better advice for this new member!

Martin

Verbose Collector
Valuation Board

Post Posted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 8:32 am 

I bag all of them, unless they are playing copies, and store them binding up in a box. I'll generally store the hardbacks together, if I have enough of them. Otherwise I'll store them on the ends of a box with softcovers in the middle.

Here's a link to the bags that work for most hardback books:

http://cgi.ebay.com/100-1-PACK-SHEET-MU ... dZViewItem

Here are some for smaller box sets and larger hardbacks.

http://cgi.ebay.com/100-1-PACK-TREASURY ... dZViewItem

The sheet music bags work perfectly for most hardbacks.  The treasury size bags work well for most of your typical box sets but will need adjusted (taped) for the bigger hardbacks.  I haven't found a bag for the larger box sets yet but there probably is one out there.

Long-Winded Collector
Acaeum Donor

Post Posted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 8:49 am