Dungeons & Dragons:  What it is and where it is going
Author

Long-Winded Collector
Acaeum Donor

Post Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 6:36 pm 

Ok, I admit it.  I swiped the thread's title from my newly acquired Dragon #22.  In hopes of steering the neverending "Edition War" in a new direction, I thought I'd share a rather timeless (and somewhat humorous, in hindsight) quote from pg. 30 of that issue.

Gary Gygax wrote:Somehow the school of continuing evolution has conceived that D&D can go on in a state of flux, each new version "new and improved!"  From a standpoint of sales, I beam broadly at the very thought of an unending string of new, improved, super, energized, versions of D&D being hyped to the loyal followers of the gaming hobby in general and role playing fantasy games in particular.  As a game designer I do not agree, particularly as a gamer who began with chess.  The original could benefit from a careful reorganization and expansion to clarify things, and this might be done at some future time.  As all of the ADVANCED D&D system is not written yet, it is a bit early for prognostication, but I envision only minor expansions and some rules amending on a gradual, edition to edition, basis.  When youhave a fine product, it is time to let well enough alone.  I do not believe that hobbyists and casual players should be continually barraged with new rules, new systems, and new drains on their purses.  Certainly there will be changes, for the game is not perfect; but I do not believe the game is so imperfect as to require constant improvement.

-- Gary Gygax, February, 1979.

YIM  

Grandstanding Collector
Acaeum Donor

Post Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 6:39 pm 

deimos3428 wrote:Ok, I admit it. I swiped the thread's title from my newly acquired Dragon #22. In hopes of steering the neverending "Edition War" in a new direction, I thought I'd share a rather timeless (and somewhat humorous, in hindsight) quote from pg. 30 of that issue.