USA Website legalities
Author

Verbose Collector

Post Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 5:47 am 

Hi All,

was wondering, if someone in the USA lists a product on their website at the wrong price, and someone buys it, are they legally obliged to sell it to them or not?

Cheers,

Malcolm

House Atreides

House Atreides CCG singles for sale

Prolific Collector

Post Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 6:16 am 

Generally I'd say they're not obliged to sell the item.  A few months back one of the large electronics companies (Sony/Toshiba/Dell/etc.) listed a palmtop that usually sold for something like $500 for $50.  I tried to order one at the outrageously low price, and even though the order was accepted the next day I got a very nice email saying the order couldn't be fulfilled.  

The applicable laws may vary from state to state.

There's also a possibly of a false advertising claim, if the incorrect price is prominently displayed and/or used in advertising.

I am not a lawyer and the preceeding should not be taken as legal advice.

Grandstanding Collector

Post Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 6:31 am 

NetRodent wrote:Generally I'd say they're not obliged to sell the item. A few months back one of the large electronics companies (Sony/Toshiba/Dell/etc.) listed a palmtop that usually sold for something like $500 for $50. I tried to order one at the outrageously low price, and even though the order was accepted the next day I got a very nice email saying the order couldn't be fulfilled.

There's also a possibly of a false advertising claim, if the incorrect price is prominently displayed and/or used in advertising.

Well what malc is saying, that if somebody does that in the UK, and they refuse to honour the transaction, you can get them for breaching the sale of goods act (i remember the 1979 one but am pretty sure its been updated a number of times since)

anyone who is interested: http://www.dti.gov.uk/ccp/topics1/facts ... odsact.htm

do you have something akin to this over in the US?

Al