eBay Buying and Selling Tips (for the real world)
Author

Long-Winded Collector
Acaeum Donor

Post Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 9:02 am 

I figured I'd add this as a new thread rather than polluting some existing thread.  As many of us use Ebay on a regular basis, it seems like a good idea to share learned wisdom.  For the seasoned Ebay veterans this will be obvious, but I'm still learning...so I'll start it off.

As I learned the hard way this week, especially if you're selling, use something extremely stable (hotmail, yahoo, etc), not your standard work email as your Ebay email address.
At work, our mail server was down this week, but more importantly (ok, from our perspective!)  it interfered heavily with my eBay auctions as buyers could not contact me for a day and a half.  :oops:

YIM  

Grandstanding Collector

Post Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 9:22 am 

my bit or wisdom is:

ensure you set out your terms and conditions VERY clearly, so they are easily understood even by the most thickest luddite. this will save you countless questions and problems along the way.

as deimos has mentioned in another thread (re OCE), use your own photos, instead of "stock" ones.

also be efficient in what you do, as it builds respect and goodwill - others will always come back if you do this.

when asked things, always try and be friendly and helpful - i find ppl like that a lot.

there thats my .01 for now :)

Are we nearly there yet?

Prolific Collector
Acaeum Donor

Post Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 9:23 am 

deimos3428 wrote:I figured I'd add this as a new thread rather than polluting some existing thread. As many of us use Ebay on a regular basis, it seems like a good idea to share learned wisdom. For the seasoned Ebay veterans this will be obvious, but I'm still learning...so I'll start it off.

As I learned the hard way this week, especially if you're selling, use something extremely stable (hotmail, yahoo, etc), not your standard work email as your Ebay email address.