My first post on The Acaeum, a D&D bio
Author

Active Collector

Post Posted: Sun May 01, 2005 5:48 am 

I started playing D&D in 1976 while stationed at Great Lakes Naval Base in North Chicago. We made a couple of trips to the Dungeon in Lake Geneva and got to meet everyone there. We played F.I.T.S., Naval minis, and of course D&D. Even went into the original Blackmoor castle. If I remember correctly it was Terry Kuntz that took us in.
Was pretty heavy into it for a couple of years along with EPT and Traveller. Even was invited to DM at the Dragon Seekers club in Chicago in early '77. Have a copy of their first issue of The Wizard from Feb. 1977. Kept playing after being transferred to Orlando, but when sent to Idaho started drifting away and after being assigned to sea duty lost track entirely.
Couple of years ago I saw how collectible this stuff had become and decided to invest(won't go near the stock market). Just wish I had held onto some of the early stuff I had, like earliest issues of Dragon starting with #1(I could kick myself). some things I did keep(no thanks to me) were a Palace of the Vampire Queen and a Beastmaker Mountain. Also some minis from those early days, including what I believe might be the first lead dragon made. I suspect it's Grenadier, but nobody has been able to tell me anything about it. Could definitely use some help there.
Since collecting I have picked up some decent items thanks to my knowledge of those early days. For example: