D&D Barn Finds and Tales from the Collecting Trail
Author

Prolific Collector

Post Posted: Sat Oct 30, 2004 3:56 am 

Post your best about the ones that didn't get away. From yard sales, old bookstores, early rec.games.frp marketplace, etc. Tell your tales of amazing deals and finds.

I shared this story with Paul recently and it gave me the idea for this thread

I was just thinking about your trips across the country to old gamestores and used bookstores. I was a band manager in the summers of 96 - 98 and traveled from coast to coast. I too scavenged quite a bit during those summers, and one story stands out. I was in Normal, Illinois a mid-size collage town in the center of the state. We had some free time, so it was business as usual for me, find the gamestore or used bookstore. I came across the gamestore first and to my disappointment all the old items were in plastic and marked up accordingly. No big deal I just took a look around talked to the owner and left. Upon leaving I caught up with a few of the other people on the tour just "two blocks away" at a small used bookstore. Just out of curiosity I asked the clerk if she had any old D&D stuff. Holy Cow! It was a whole shelf about four feet wide and loaded with multiples of first edition AD&D rulebooks and modules, 2nd print woody 3 OCEs plus many rare titles I'd never heard of at the time. All the hardbacks and box sets were $5 and modules $1 or $2. Needless to say I cleared them out and still have almost all of it. The coolest thing in the lot was (and I had no idea what it was until the Acaeum) the 1976 in-house TSR character sheets only missing a few of the sheets. Funny enough I remember she just threw it in for free  :D   those where the days......